TL;DR
Get health and wellness essentials delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
The FDA expanded the approved use of oral remibrutinib (Rhapsido) to treat adults with symptomatic dermographism whose symptoms are inadequately controlled by H1 antihistamines. In the phase III RemIND trial cohort supporting the decision, 29.3% of participants taking the drug achieved a complete response at 12 weeks, compared with 14.0% receiving placebo.
The FDA expanded remibrutinib’s approved use to include symptomatic dermographism in adults whose condition is inadequately controlled by H1 antihistamines, Novartis announced. The decision adds a prescription treatment option for a chronic form of inducible urticaria and is supported by trial results showing a higher rate of complete response with the drug than with placebo.
Remibrutinib, sold as Rhapsido, is an oral Bruton’s tyrosine kinase (BTK) inhibitor. Under the expanded indication, adults with symptomatic dermographism may use it as an initial treatment when H1 antihistamines have not adequately controlled their symptoms. The announcement describes the drug as the first prescription medicine approved for both chronic spontaneous urticaria and symptomatic dermographism.
The main evidence cited for the new indication came from the symptomatic dermographism cohort in RemIND, a phase III trial in people with chronic inducible urticaria whose symptoms continued despite second-generation H1 antihistamines. Researchers compared remibrutinib with placebo and assessed complete response using the Total Fric Score, a measure identified in the report as the trial’s response assessment.
At 12 weeks, 29.3% of participants receiving remibrutinib met the criteria for complete response, compared with 14.0% of participants receiving placebo; the reported P value was 0.0229. The report said responses were seen as early as two weeks after treatment began. It also described the safety profile as consistent in clinical trials with follow-up to 24 weeks. Adverse events occurring in at least 3% of patients included nasal congestion, sore throat, nasopharyngitis, bleeding, headache, nausea and abdominal pain.
A New Option After Antihistamines
The expanded indication gives adults with symptomatic dermographism a specifically approved prescription option when H1 antihistamines have not been enough. That matters for patients whose symptoms persist despite commonly used antihistamine treatment, although the FDA action does not establish that every patient will respond or that remibrutinib is suitable for everyone.
The trial results show a difference between the treatment and placebo groups, but also indicate that most participants did not meet the complete-response threshold at 12 weeks. The figures describe outcomes in the trial cohort, not a guarantee of an individual patient’s result. They also do not, by themselves, establish how the medicine compares with other possible treatments outside the trial.
Novartis said symptomatic dermographism and chronic spontaneous urticaria together occur in more than 90% of people with chronic hives. That prevalence statement comes from the company’s announcement as reported by MedPage Today; the brief report does not provide the underlying estimate or its methodology. The regulatory expansion is relevant to clinicians and patients because it covers another named form of urticaria, while treatment decisions still depend on an individual’s condition and medical history.
remibrutinib Rhapsido prescription medication
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How RemIND Supported Approval
Symptomatic dermographism is described in the report as the most common form of chronic inducible urticaria. In this condition, symptoms are associated with physical stimulation of the skin. The approval announcement concerns adults whose symptoms are inadequately controlled by H1 antihistamines, rather than all people with hives or all patients with dermographism.
The decision follows evidence from the symptomatic dermographism group in RemIND**, the phase III study of remibrutinib in chronic inducible urticaria. Participants remained symptomatic despite treatment with second-generation H1 antihistamines. The reported comparison focused on the proportion achieving complete response at week 12, using the Total Fric Score.
Remibrutinib was already approved for chronic spontaneous urticaria, according to the source report. The FDA’s latest action extends its use to symptomatic dermographism as well. The report calls it the first prescription drug approved for both conditions; it does not provide a broader review of all available therapies or explain the FDA’s full review process.
symptomatic dermographism treatment options
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Limits of the Available Results
The brief report does not give the number of participants in the symptomatic dermographism cohort, details of the full trial design, or additional outcome measures. It also does not report longer-term results beyond the stated safety follow-up to 24 weeks. Those omissions limit what can be concluded from the announcement alone about durability of benefit and outcomes across different patient groups.
The reported adverse events occurred in at least 3% of patients, but the source does not provide their individual rates, severity, or comparisons with placebo. It also does not detail the FDA’s complete safety information, contraindications, or monitoring recommendations. The stated results should not be read as individualized medical guidance; patients should discuss treatment choices and risks with a qualified health professional.
The report identifies adults inadequately controlled by H1 antihistamines as the approved population. It does not specify in the supplied material whether the FDA attached additional prescribing conditions or provide the full product labeling. Those details, as well as how remibrutinib will be used in routine care, are not established by the brief announcement.
H1 antihistamine alternative medications
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Prescribing Details and Follow-Up
Clinicians and patients can refer to the FDA-approved prescribing information for the full indication, dosing instructions, warnings and adverse-event details. The source report does not state whether further regulatory updates or new trial readouts are scheduled.
For now, the next practical step is clinical assessment of adults whose symptomatic dermographism remains inadequately controlled with H1 antihistamines. The evidence reported here documents a higher complete-response rate with remibrutinib than placebo at 12 weeks, while questions about longer-term effectiveness and real-world outcomes remain open.
chronic urticaria prescription drugs
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
What did the FDA approve remibrutinib to treat?
The FDA expanded remibrutinib (Rhapsido) to include symptomatic dermographism in adults whose condition is inadequately controlled by H1 antihistamines.
What were the complete-response results in the trial?
In the RemIND symptomatic dermographism cohort, 29.3% of participants taking remibrutinib achieved complete response at 12 weeks, compared with 14.0% receiving placebo. The reported P value was 0.0229.
How soon were responses observed?
The source report said responses were observed as early as two weeks after treatment began. It does not provide a separate response rate for that time point.
What adverse events were reported?
Events occurring in at least 3% of patients included nasal congestion, sore throat, nasopharyngitis, bleeding, headache, nausea and abdominal pain. The brief report does not give individual event rates or full prescribing information.
Does the approval mean remibrutinib will work for every patient?
No. The trial reported that 29.3% of participants receiving the drug met the complete-response criteria at 12 weeks, so the result is not a guarantee for an individual. Patients should discuss treatment options and risks with a qualified health professional.
Source: rss
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
